The Economic Census provides detailed statistics that are important for industries and communities. Trade associations, chambers of commerce, and businesses rely on this information for economic development, business decisions, and strategic planning. This website from the U.S. Census Bureau provides information on using these statistics, including sample case studies.
U.S. Census Bureau: The Census Bureau is the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy.
Data.Gov:Provides descriptions of the Federal datasets (metadata), information about how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage government datasets. Federal, Executive Branch data are included in the first version of Data.gov.
National Historical Geographical Information System (NHGIS):The NHGIS provides easy access to summary tables and time series of population, housing, agriculture, and economic data, along with GIS-compatible boundary files, for years from 1790 through the present and for all levels of U.S. census geography, including states, counties, tracts, and blocks.
National Institute of Health (NIH)-National Library of Medicine (NLM):A part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, NIH is the largest biomedical research agency in the world. Includes PubMed/MEDLINE.
National Science Foundation (NSF): an independent federal agency created by Congress in 1950 "to promote the progress of science; to advance the national health, prosperity, and welfare; to secure the national defense..."
Statistical Abstracts of the United States: Authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. A primary source for statistics on all aspects of population, economy and society in the United States. Annual publication covers 1878-present. This source provides a vast amount of statistics for many different geographies and periods. The statistics are drawn from decennial census (every 10 years), economic census (every 5 years) and a whole host of other survey programs.
Agricultural Statistics Data Base - Quick Stats: USDA National Agricultural Statistics Service. Select U.S., state, or county data for crops, livestock and other agricultural commodities.Data sets include Census of Agriculture.
Bureau of Economic Analysis: The BEA is an agency within the U.S. Department of Commerce. Provides economic statistics about major functions of the U.S. economy including: national Income; GDP; personal income and outlays; and regional economic indicator.
Bureau of Justice Statistics: Statistics for a variety of U.S. Department of Justice reports and documents as well as some international statistics on crime and criminal justice. Link to data from the FBI's Uniform Crime Reports and download data series. Includes surveys of DNA Crime Laboratories.
Bureau of Labor Statistics Data: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. Labor statistics include prices, inflation, employment, consumer price indices data and tables.
CDC Wonder (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention) - Public Health: Provides access to a wide variety of reports and numeric public health data.
Energy Information Administration: Official energy statistics from the U.S. government. The EIA, within the Department of Energy, provides data on all energy resources and related topics - petroleum, natural gas, electricity, coal, nuclear, renewable and alternative fuels. EIA also compiles information on international energy resources, provides forecasts and analyses, state and U.S. historical data, energy uses, greenhouse gases, and more energy-related data. Gasoline and diesel fuel prices are tracked weekly.
Environmental Dataset Gateway: A vast selection of EPA data sources, organized into topics such as air and water that are in easily downloadable formats.
National Center for Education Statistics: U.S. Department of Education site for educational statistics. Data includes school district data, educational assessment, and public library data.
Uniform Crime Reports: FBI site providing Crime in the U.S. annual statistical reports, and additional reports including Hate Crime Statistics; Terrorism Statistics, and more data from the National Incident-Based Reporting System.
U.S. DOT Bureau of Transportation Statistics:Provides access to DOT data searchable by mode, region, and many more subject areas.