LibGuides: LRU 382: COVID Class- A Liberal Arts Exploration of the Coronavirus Pandemic: Policy/Education/Social Sciences

Highlighted Library Databases for Policy, Education, and the Social Sciences

Library databases require a LRU login.

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive, non-biased reporting and analysis on issues shaping our world.
ERIC (Education) This link opens in a new window
Digests and references from education-related journals and other documents.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Electronic database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary subjects.
Formerly known as the Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)
Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Database combines Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues.
ProQuest Education Database This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and indexing to over 1000 full-text educational journals and 18,000 dissertations
ProQuest Psychology Database This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and indexing for titles, with titles available in full text.
ProQuest Social Science Database This link opens in a new window
Extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Database with records devoted to peer-reviewed literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health.

Resources from the Web

CIA World Fact Book
The World Factbook, produced for US policymakers and coordinated throughout the US Intelligence Community, provides facts on every country, dependency, and geographic entity in the world, including information on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
Congress.gov
Official website for U.S. federal legislative information. Provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public.
This website is replacing Thomas.gov, which is being retired July 5th, 2016.
Council of State Governments: COVID-19 Resources for State Leaders for State
Contains states reporting cases of COVID-19, schedule of legislative sessions by state, executive orders, school closures, available federal resources
COVID Racial Data Tracker
advocates for, collects, publishes, and analyzes racial data on the pandemic across the United States. It’s a collaboration between the COVID Tracking Project and the Antiracist Research & Policy Center (ARPC).
Homeland Security Digital Library
Documents from the public collection on COVID-19 related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management.
ICPSR: COVID-19 Data Repository
Repository for data examining the social, behavioral, public health, and economic impact of the novel coronavirus global pandemic.
NC.gov:government
Links to NC state laws, session laws, administrative code and NC Register.

Open Search Databases

Open Search Databases do not require an LRU login. Content from the Directory of Open Access Journals is freely available; other search tools may have limited access to free content.

Google Scholar
Freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines.
ERIC: Institute of Education Science
From the US Department of Education, provides access to an extensive body of education-related literature including journal articles, books, research syntheses, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers and more.
SSRN: Social Science Research Network
Wide variety of social science research from a number of specialized networks including cognitive science, leadership, management, and social insurance.
The SocioWeb
Guide to the sociological resources available on the Internet