LibGuides: Journalism and Mass Communication: Finding Books

Browse the Stacks!

You can browse our extensive collection of Journalism and Mass Communication related books on the 2nd floor of the Rudisill Library! The following Library of Congress call number classifications may be of interest to you. The first letter/number combination found on the sticker near the bottom of the book's spine will be...

P87-96 Communication; Mass media
PN1990-1992.92 Broadcasting
PN4699-5650 Journalism. The periodical press, etc.
PN4735-4748 Relation to the state; Government and the press; Liberty of the press
PN4775-4784 Technique.; Practical journalism
PN4825-4830 Amateur journalism
PN4832-4836 Magazines and other periodicals
PN4840-5648 By region or country
PN5650 The Jewish press

Confused? Ask a Librarian!

Inter-Library Loan

We don't have the title you want? You can request it through our InterLibrary Loan form. You can request books or even submit a request for another library to scan an article that they have in print and send it to you via email.

Dont forget your local public library! Many public libraries participate in ILL, and can get you books and other items that they don't own!

Check out our brief Introduction to Interlibrary Loan on Vimeo.

Renew Your Items

Renew your items from the comfort of your own computer.

The log-in information required is the same you will use to log-in for off-campus access to library resources:

Your username: your last name
Your password: "lr" + your ID card number, omitting any leading zeros
Example: if your ID number is 000654321, your password/barcode would be -- lr654321

Library Catalog

Search the online catalog for books, DVDs, e-books, audio books, etc.

When searching use more general search terms than you would when searching a database of journal articles. For example, do a SUBJECT search on journalism to see the many subjects and entries listed under each.

When you find an item that looks useful, check the subject headings - you can click on them to see similar items. Also, it may be useful to click on the call number in the record. This allows you to virtually browse the titles as though you were standing in the stacks, except you'll also see any e-books in the collection.

Virtual Reference Desk

Need some background information to help decide on a topic? Have you read an article and are confused on the lingo? Reference works, both print and online, will help you get started with your research. Here are some online reference resources and databases, both general and subject specific, that may be useful for your research.

Gale eBooks
Search the content of over 30 specialized online encyclopedias, such as the Gale Encyclopedia of Science or the Encyclopedia of Measurement and Statistics.

Reference Books for Journalism

The Associated Press Stylebook and Briefing on Media Law by Norm Goldstein
Call Number: PN4783 .A79 2002
ISBN: 0738207403
Publication Date: 2002-07-03
Provides facts and references for reporters, and defines usage, spelling, and grammar for editors. There are separate sections for journalists specializing in sports and business, and complete guidelines for how to write photo captions, proofread text, file copy over the wire, handle copyrights, and avoid libel.
The Associated Press Guide to Punctuation by Rene J. Cappon
Call Number: PE1450 .C34 2007eb
ISBN: 9780738207858
Publication Date: 2003-01-07
From the editors at the world-renowned Associated Press, a guide to the proper use of punctuation--from the apostrophe to the semicolon
A Dictionary of Journalism by Tony Harcup
Call Number: PN4728
ISBN: 9780199646241
Publication Date: 2014-07-08
This accessible and authoritative A–Z covers the wide range of terms likely to be encountered by students of journalism. It offers a broad, accessible point of reference on an ever-topical and constantly changing field that affects everyone's knowledge and perception of the world.
Encyclopedia of Journalism by Christopher H. Sterling
Call Number: PN4728 .E48 2009eb
ISBN: 9781412972048
Publication Date: 2009-09-01
Covers all significant dimensions of journalism, including print, broadcast, and Internet journalism; U.S. and international perspectives; history; technology; legal issues and court cases; ownership; and economics.
Watch Your Words by Marda Dunsky
Call Number: PN4783 .D86 2011eb
ISBN: 9781442214651
Publication Date: 2011-10-14
The third edition of Watch Your Words—updated according to changes in AP style—is a handbook for quick classroom and newsroom use that is consistent with The Associated Press Stylebook and establishes a baseline for language-skills knowledge in the areas of punctuation, grammar, usage, and AP style.

E-Books on Journalism @ Rudisill Library

The Watchdog That Didn't Bark by Dean Starkman
Call Number: HB3722 .S792 2014eb
ISBN: 9780231158183
Publication Date: 2014-01-07
In this sweeping, incisive study, Dean Starkman exposes the critical shortcomings that softened coverage during the mortgage era and the years leading up to the financial collapse of 2008. Dividing journalism into two competing approaches—access reporting and accountability reporting—he connects the financial collapse to what happens when the former overwhelms the latter and reporters lose sight of their public role.
Shrinking the News by Coline Covington
Call Number: HG4521 .S384 2014eb
ISBN: 9781782200956
Publication Date: 2014-01-06
Shrinking the News brings together Coline Covington's wide range of articles from her regular column in the online newspaper, The Week. The articles cover current events from October 2008 until December 2010, concluding with more recent articles from 2013.These articles form a fascinating psychoanalytic insight on crime, politics, the economy, sports and stardom, and the quirky, bizarre events and trends that make up our daily life. The widespread popularity of these articles is a testimony to the public's interest in a psychoanalytic view of the world around us and why people do the things they do.
Journalism and Political Exclusion by Debra M. Clarke
Call Number: PN4749 .C53 2014eb
ISBN: 9780773542815
Publication Date: 2014-10-15
News stories are frequently found to be inadequately informative to the extent that journalism is more inclined to generate political disenchantment, rather than prompt its audiences to pursue a fully engaged level of political participation in their societies. Journalism and Political Exclusion provides a multi-method, integrated analysis of news production and news audiences, including a long-term study of community activists in a central Canadian city. During the seven-year fieldwork period, different groups of research participants completed questionnaires, wrote news diaries, and were interviewed in their homes while viewing network television newscasts.
The New Censorship by Joel Simon
Call Number: PN4751 .S56 2015eb
ISBN: 9780231538336
Publication Date: 2014-11-11
Joel Simon, the executive director of the Committee to Protect Journalists, warns that journalists -- and the crucial news they report -- are increasingly vulnerable to attack by authoritarian governments, militants, criminals, and terrorists, who all seek to use technology, political pressure, and violence to set the global information agenda. Drawing on his experience defending journalists on the front lines, he calls on "global citizens," U.S. policy makers, international law advocates, and human rights groups to create a global freedom-of-expression agenda tied to trade, climate, and other major negotiations.
Writing for The New Yorker: Critical Essays on an American Periodical by Fiona Green
Call Number: PN4900.N35 W75 2015eb
ISBN: 9780748682508
Publication Date: 2015
This collection of newly commissioned critical essays brings together a range of sharply angled analyses of particular New Yorker authors, styles, columns, and pages, so fostering multiple perspectives on American writing and periodical culture at specific moments in twentieth- and twenty-first-century history.
The Invention of News: How the World Came to Know About Itself by Andrew Pettegree
Call Number: PN5110 .P48 2014eb
ISBN: 9780300206227
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
This groundbreaking book tracks the history of news in ten countries over the course of four centuries. It evaluates the unexpected variety of ways in which information was transmitted in the premodern world as well as the impact of expanding news media on contemporary events and the lives of an ever-more-informed public.
Letting Go of the Words: Writing Web Content that Works by Janice (Ginny) Redish
Call Number: TK5105.888 .R427 2007eb
ISBN: 9780080555386
Publication Date: 2009-01-07