LibGuides: Journalism and Mass Communication: Finding Articles

Databases

Databases by Subject
Browse the databases for a particular subject.
Databases listed A to Z
View the list of databases available to you in alphabetical order.

Inter-Library Loan

We don't have the title you want? You can request it through our InterLibrary Loan form. You can request books or even submit a request for another library to scan an article that they have in print and send it to you via email.

Dont forget your local public library! Many public libraries participate in ILL, and can get you books and other items that they don't own!

Check out our brief Introduction to Interlibrary Loan on Vimeo.

Databases, Journals, and Articles

A database contains journals in which articles are published.

To discover articles on topics of interest to you, search our databases - listed by subject here.
If you need to find a specific article and you know the title of the journal in which it is published, search for it in Journal Finder.

Articles: Scholarly vs Popular

N.B.: The library's website was updated January 2016 - all instructional videos feature the old site design when navigating sites that end in lr.edu.

We are in the process of updating our instructional videos, but you may still find them useful for the information within.

Highlighted Research Databases

JSTOR
An online archive of high-quality scholarly journals covering fields in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. Goes back to volume 1, and the most recent 3-5 years are not included.

Project MUSE

ProQuest Research Library
General purpose database covering a wide range of academic subjects featuring a diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.

more... less...

Includes more than 4,070 titles—nearly 2,800 in full text—from 1971 forward. A broad and inclusive general reference databases.

ABI/INFORM Collection

The most comprehensive ABI/INFORM™ database, this comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
Telecommunications Database

This database is an essential resource for anyone researching the industry or its technology. Whether you’re looking for the latest news on WAP technology, following market penetration of new technologies, or gathering information about the key players in this field, ProQuest Telecommunications helps you stay one step ahead. The database includes over 140 titles, with more than 115 available in full text. Search more than 600,000 records, dating back to the early 1990's. Coverage: 1995 - current.
Academic Search Premier

A popular resource found in many scholarly settings worldwide, Academic Search Premier is a leading multidisciplinary research database. It provides acclaimed full-text journals, magazines, and other valuable resources that cover the expansive academic disciplines offered in colleges and universities. This comprehensive content includes both PDF backfiles and searchable cited references.
Points of View

Containing resources that present multiple sides of an issue, Points of View Reference Source provides rich content that can help students assess and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills.

Newspapers

Newspaper Source Plus

Newspaper Source Plus provides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers and newswires and offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.
New York Times
Includes all the articles published since the first issue of the paper in 1851. Provides full text and full image articles with digital reproductions of every page, every article and every issue in PDF format. In addition to news stories, includes editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photos, and advertisements.
US Newsstream

U.S. Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. For academic and public libraries, U.S. Newsstream offers exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. U.S. Newsstream also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers, and is cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform. Coverage: 1980 - current.
Wall Street Journal

The Wall Street Journal was founded in July 1889. Ever since, the Journal has led the way in chronicling the rise of industries in America and around the world. In no other period of human history has the planet witnessed changes so dramatic or swift. The Journal has covered the births and deaths of tens of thousands of companies; the creation of new industries such as autos, aerospace, oil and entertainment; two world wars and numerous other conflicts; profound advances in science and technology; revolutionary social movements; the rise of consumer economies in the U.S. and abroad; and the fitful march of globalization.