Journalism and Mass Communication

This section of the Radio Newsroom website contains recordings of some of the most important news events that have occurred since the BBC began broadcasting regular bulletins in 1922.

Can find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present, including where they are archived.

Find information on the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA), which provides that any person has a right, enforceable in court, to obtain access to federal agency records, except to the extent that such records (or portions of them) are protected from public disclosure by one of nine exemptions or by one of three special law enforcement record exclusions.

"The Institute for Public Relations is an independent nonprofit that bridges the academy and the profession, supporting PR research and mainstreaming this knowledge into practice through PR education."

The mission of Journalist’s Resource is to curate scholarship relevant to the media for use by practitioners, educators and students. We also invite all those interested in policy and public affairs — from citizen bloggers to civic groups — to use the site’s materials.

A searchable site of online resources presented by the Society of Professional Journalists.

Public Records Directory

Your encyclopedia for state and county public records, the Records Project is an online community dedicated to building the largest, free public records encyclopedia.

Provides practical assistance, resources, and support to freelance newsgatherers and their families worldwide, to raise their profile, promote their welfare and safety, and to support their right to report freely and without fear.

Annual report on American journalism with charts and statistics. Covers 2004-present.

Culture and communication statistics.

Data arranged by country detailing the prevalence of television, radio, cinema, and much more. It looks like the last set of data was collected in 2006; trends are determined by examining the previous two years.

Select a media company to see what they own. For example, you can see that the Sony Corporation owns 100% of Columbia TriStar, 50% of the Game Show Network, and 50% of Sony BMG Music Entertainment.

"ACES is an international members’ alliance of editors working at newspapers, magazines, websites, traditional media outlets, Fortune 500, as well as freelance editors, students and their professors. Some may think of us as grammar geeks, punctuation freaks and syntax-obsessed snobs; in reality, we’re an organization built on the needs of our members and the advocacy of editing as a craft vital to clear writing and reader advocacy."

"The American Society of News Editors, founded in 1922 as a nonprofit professional organization, focuses on leadership development and journalism-related issues. ASNE promotes fair, principled journalism, defends and protects First Amendment rights, and fights for freedom of information and open government. Leadership, innovation, diversity and inclusion in coverage and the journalism work force, youth journalism and the sharing of ideas are also key ASNE initiatives."

"The Committee to Protect Journalists is an independent, nonprofit organization founded in 1981. We promote press freedom worldwide by defending the rights of journalists to report the news without fear of reprisal."

"The Federal Communications Commission (FCC) is an independent United States government agency. The FCC was established by the Communications Act of 1934 and is charged with regulating interstate and international communications by radio, television, wire, satellite and cable. The FCC's jurisdiction covers the 50 states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. possessions."

"The International Federation of Journalists is the world's largest organisation of journalists. First established in 1926, it was relaunched in 1946 and again, in its present form, in 1952. Today the Federation represents around 600.000 members in more than 100 countries.
The IFJ promotes international action to defend press freedom and social justice through strong, free and independent trade unions of journalists."

The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences Southeast Chapter is a professional, non-profit association dedicated to excellence in visual medial.

While based in Atlanta, the chapter serves the southeast region comprising the following geographic areas: Alabama, Georgia, Mississippi, South Carolina, and Asheville, NC.

""The National Association of Broadcasters is the voice for the nation’s radio and television broadcasters. As the premier trade association for broadcasters, NAB advances the interests of our members in federal government, industry and public affairs; improves the quality and profitability of broadcasting; encourages content and technology innovation; and spotlights the important and unique ways stations serve their communities."

"We are a nonpartisan alliance of state & regional affiliates promoting collaboration, education & advocacy for open government, transparency & freedom of information. Our members includes citizen-driven nonprofit FOI organizations, academic and First Amendment centers, journalistic societies and attorneys.
NFOIC is an education and outreach resource for state and local governments to counsel on transparency and open government issues, laws and legislation."

The National Writers Union UAW Local 1981 is the only labor union that represents freelance writers.

NAA is a nonprofit organization representing nearly 2,000 newspapers and their multiplatform businesses in the United States and Canada. The NAA focuses on the major issues that affect today's newspaper industry: public policy/legal matters, advertising revenue growth and audience development across the medium's broad portfolio of products and digital platforms.

The mission of NCPA is:
• To protect First Amendment Freedoms
• To keep public meetings and public records open
• To keep the entire state government process accessible to the public
• To promote thorough communications among association members and to encourage membership growth and activity
• To maintain high industry standards
• To represent the business interests of newspapers
• To promote literacy

"PRSA is a community of 21,000+ public relations and communications professionals across the USA. PRSA provides professional development, sets standards of excellence and upholds principles of ethics for its members and, more broadly, the multi-billion dollar global public relations profession. We also advocate for greater understanding and adoption of public relations services, and act as one of the industry’s leading voices on the important business and professional issues of our times."

"The student society aims to foster the following:
*Understanding of current theories and procedures of the profession
*Appreciation of the highest ethical ideals and principles
*Awareness of an appropriate professional attitude
*Appreciation of Associate Membership in PRSA and eventually accredited membership
Today The Public Relations Student Society of America has more than 9,600 members in 284 universities across the country."

Nonprofit organization dedicated to providing free legal help to reporters and news organizations.

Their Mission: "The Society of Professional Journalists is dedicated to the perpetuation of a free press as the cornerstone of our nation and our liberty." The SPJ is "dedicated to encouraging the free practice of journalism and stimulating high standards of ethical behavior."

A blog about "online journalism, newspaper video and digital media."

Print and broadcast reporter/editor/producer turn AP news editor. Now a journalism professor at the University of South Carolina.

"A blog covering the exploding local media space, from journalism startups and hyperlocal to location-aware mobile."

"John Cass, a marketer, writes about corporate blogging, PR, marketing, social media, and the Internet." Lives and works in Greensboro, NC.

"This class blog will help you learn about interviewing, gathering information, and more for writing and reporting."