Open Educational Resources (OERs)

Datasets that are generated and help by the U.S. Government. Find Federnal, state, and local data, tools, and resources. Includes geospatial data.

Open data portal for Western North Carolina.

United Nation's statistical database.

World Bank datasets, including databases, preformatted tables, reports, and other resources.

An online text that comprehensively addresses all major ancient civilization including Egypt, Greece, Rome, Africa, and China.

Persons of Canadian heritage or of importance to Canadian history who died between 1000 and 1930. ©

Links to over 3,000 selected arts & humanities ejournals that provide free content.

Academic books in the areas of humanities and social sciences.

Leading works of contemporary critical thought & theory. Electronic books, journals, and labs in the humanities available for free use.

46,000 free ebook that includes classic, American, and British literature among other topics in the humanities.

This OWL contains over 700 pages of information on writing and research and includes games and learning activities. Create your own (free) "OWLet" and use only the pages that are relevant to you and your students.

An open textbook of American Literature to 1899.

Links to poems, information about poets, links to audio and podcasts about poetry. ©

2,887 volumes of 19th-century American fiction, as complied by librarian Lyle Wright in his book American Fiction, 1851-1875. ©

Language learning materials, tools, and more for 21 languages from UT Austin's COERLL project.

Award-winning first year French curriculum

Enhancing French skills is a website for intermediate learners of French, created for students in a three-hour semester course at the UT Austin.

Collection of authentic conversations in French that targets mostly intermediate and advanced learners of French.

An online pedagogical reference grammar of the French language that combines authoritative grammar explanations, self-correcting exercises and online audio with surreal dialogues and cartoon images.

Textbook for a transdisiplinary approach to reading/writing at the first and second year levels of college French.

Gallica is the digital library of the National Library of France and its partners. ©

Open access French journals in the humanities and social sciences.

A repository for open Spanish resources.

Community website where instructors can find and share resources.

The purpose of the Spanish in Texas project is to profile Spanish as it is spoken throughout Texas today and to provide open learning tools that allow students, teachers, and the general public to explore Spanish language variation.

An online collection of videos of second language and heritage language learners of Spanish during oral interviews and provides supplemental activities to help viewers investigate learners’ language and proficiency levels.

A compilation of brief video clips in which native speakers of Spanish from various locations throughout Latin America and Spain demonstrate various language tasks.

Science, technology and medicine open access book publisher. Covers: physical science, engineering, and technology; life sciences; health sciences; and social sciences.

BMC has an evolving portfolio of high quality peer-reviewed journals including broad interest titles such as BMC Biology and BMC Medicine, specialist journals such as Malaria Journal and Microbiome, and the BMC series.

Research and information in science and medicine.

Full text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal articles from the U.S. National Institute of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). ©

A collection of open public health courses and course materials.

A collection of over 22,000 freely available digital materials for health sciences education.

The Avalon Project mounts digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government. ©

Digitized collections from libraries, archives, and museums across Europe.

A digital library of six specially selected 18th and 19th century journals. Journals include Gentlemen's Magazine, The Annual Register, Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society, Notes and Queries, The Builder, and Blackwood's Edinburg Magazine.

The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database has information on almost 36,000 slaving voyages
that forcibly embarked over 10 million Africans for transport to the Americas between the sixteenth and nineteenth centuries. The actual number is estimated to have been as high as 12.5 million.

A collection of U.S. and world history course materials including assessments and learning activities.

A list of primary source resources from newspapers, to maps, to diaries and letters covering the American Civil War (1861-1865), compiled by Susan Birkenseer for the Association of College and Research Libraries. ©

Beginning with the nature of government, this text covers all of the main topics of government including federalism, congress, bureaucracy, and civil rights.

This online textbook is one of a series of three. It begins by describing Native American Society as it was directly before colonization. This text comprehensively discusses, all topics of American history up to the turn of the twenty first century.

Written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience from the Library of Congress collection and other institutions. ©

The American Yawp offers a free and online, collaboratively built, open American history textbook designed for college-level history courses. All contributors—experienced college-level instructors—volunteer their expertise to help democratize the American past for twenty-first century classrooms.

Depository of digitized California newspaper from 1846-present. ©

A searchable database of historic American newspapers which includes information on U.S. papers dating as far back as 1690 and digital copies of select newspages from 1836-1922. ©

Photographs, manuscripts, books, moving images and more from libraries, archives, and museums from around the U.S.

Official publications from all three branches of the U.S. Government.

A listing of digitized historical U.S. newspapers

Primary sources in American social history from the Antebellum period through Reconstruction. Subject areas include education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, science, and technology. ©

Free video lectures on World War II, made available as part of Harvard Extension School's Opening Learning Initiative.

Database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts. ©

Resources in medieval studies.

An online text that comprehensively addresses all major ancient civilization including Egypt, Greece, Rome, Africa, and China.

Greek and Roman materials covering the history, literature, and culture of the ancient world. ©

An open access journal from the leading science research publisher ACS Publications "that aims to publish articles of exceptional quality and interest to the broad chemistry and scientific community."

More than 340,000 e-prints from in Mathematics, Statistics, Computer Science, Physics, Quantitative Biology, and Quantative Finance.

A free, expert-reviewed electronic reference source "about the Earth, its natural environments, and their interaction with society."

Science, technology and medicine open access book publisher. Covers: physical science, engineering, and technology; life sciences; health sciences; and social sciences.

Interactive simulations for science and math.

Research and information in science and medicine.

Literature on biodiversity.

The complete works of Charles Darwin published and freely available online. ©

Research published in the life sciences and biomedicine.

Information and images of all species known to science. ©

An open access, multidisciplinary chemistry journal publishing peer-reviewed research of broad impact from around the world.

The ChemWiki is a collaborative approach toward chemistry education where an Open Access textbook environment is constantly being written and re-written by students and faculty members resulting in a free Chemistry textbook to supplant conventional paper-based books.

A complete organic chemistry lab techniques textbook.

A series of video tutorials for basic and introductory level math.

Math exercises tool. A platform for professors who would like to create assignments in addition to readings from an open textbook.

Online graphing calculator tool.

GeoGebra is dynamic mathematics software for all levels of education that brings together geometry, algebra, spreadsheets, graphing, statistics and calculus in one easy-to-use package.

A place to discover ways to use the Framework for Information Literacy for Higher Education in instructional settings, as well as share your own activities and teaching resources related to the Framework. ©

An open access resources for faculty and librarian that includes research-focused assignment, teaching toolkits, and a blog. ©

An ejournal that publishes scholarship on the histories, cultures, religions, politics, and the intellectual, philological, and literary traditions of the contemporary Levant and Near East.

Academic books in the areas of humanities and social sciences.

Papers and the newest research in social science. ©

Brings together interactive multimedia, research, and scholarship to promote greater understanding of the course of human evolution. ©

Tutorials created and maintained by Dr. Dennis O'Neil, Behavioral Sciences Department, Palomar College, San Marcos, California. ©

A course designed by Dr. Michael Wesch, Associate Professor of Cultural Anthropology at Kansas State University. The course makes available the open textbook "The Art of Being Human" in an interactive hub for Introduction to Cultural Anthropology.

A database of working papers, journal articles, books, book chapters, and software components in economics and related fields. ©

Provides a comprehensive discussion of business concepts that introduces the student to the fundamentals that is part of Lumen Learning courseware.

Comprehensive coverage of core concepts grounded in both classic studies and current and emerging research, including coverage of the DSM-5 in discussions of psychological disorders. Incorporates discussions that reflect the diversity within the discipline, as well as the diversity of cultures and communities across the globe.

A collection of psychology texts and materials which often include an instructor's manual, PowerPoint presentations, and test banks.

Compilation of a set of readings on human growth and development based on the NOBA Project and Lumen Learning course on Human Growth and Development. This work is compiled by Lansing Community College Psychology professor, Dr. Marita De Leon.

Collection of articles on the subject of social psychology done in wiki format.

Collection of articles on the sociology done in wiki format.

An online resource to help sociology instructors incorporate videos into their classes. The centerpiece of the site is a searchable database of video clips.