LibGuides: Leadership: Finding Journals

Off-Campus Access

If you are off-campus and link to licensed resources, you will see our proxy screen which includes the words "Appalachian College Association." Your username and password are as follows:

Username = your last name
Password = your ID card number*, replacing any leading zeros with the letters lr

For full instruction, visit our Off-Campus Password page.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

Can't find it here? Don't worry! Interlibrary loan (ILL) can deliver it to you by mail or electronically.

Click here for more information!

Your Librarian

Dawn Behrend

Email Me

Contact:

Carl A. Rudisill Library
Room 122
Lenoir Rhyne University
Hickory, NC 28630

828.328.7403

Library Journal Titles

An easy way to find journals available through the Library is to use the Library Journal Titles tool.

From the library homepage, click "Journals" from the main menu in the center of the screen. Using this tool, you can:

Search by periodical title or ISSN/ISBN to see if we have access to a specific journal
Search for journals and eBooks by entering a subject search term. For example, type "leader*" into the search box to browse journal titles and eBooks related to this subject
Browse journals that focus on specific subjects (such as History) under "Browse by Discipline"

Looking for the full text of a specific journal article? Watch the video to the right to learn how to find it through the Library.

Library Journal Titles from LR University Libraries on Vimeo.

Recommended Journals for Leadership

Academy of Management Journal
Original articles and research notes that develop, test or advance management theory and practice.
Business Ethics Quarterly
Presents articles and reviews about the application of ethics to the business community, particularly global business and economic concerns.
Harvard Business Review
Written for upper level management. Presents analysis of management problems and helpful commentary on advanced thinking and practice in all fields of management and administration.
Integral Leadership Review
Presents integrated approaches to leadership and serves leaders, professionals and academics engaged in the practice, development and theory of leadership.
The International Journal of Leadership in Public Services
Presents articles that add to our shared understanding and implementation of leadership skills and knowledge to strengthen and improve public services.
Journal of Leadership & Organizational Studies
Deals with all aspects of leadership & organizations. A forum for the expression of theory, research & practice, with special emphasis given to emerging, ideas, issues, trends & innovations.
Leader to Leader
Leader to Leader is an award-winning quarterly report on management, leadership, and strategy written by today's top leaders themselves. In each issue, the Frances Hesselbein Leadership Forum brings together a peerless selection of world-class executives, best-selling management authors, top consultants, and respected social thinkers.
The McKinsey Quarterly
Features articles pertaining to the world of business, including management theory, marketing, purchasing, and other areas.
Nonprofit Management and Leadership
Quarterly publication of scholarship on all aspects of management and leadership important to nonprofit organizations and leaders.
Public Integrity
Focuses on ethics and leadership in all aspects of modern public service, and related issues.
Strategy & Leadership
Articles, special reports, case studies and thematic issues on all aspects of strategic management and planning aimed at board directors, CEOs, line and staff executives, academics and consulting firms.
Stanford Social Innovation Review
SSIR covers a wide range of topics, including nonprofit management, philanthropy, corporate citizenship, and social change.

Databases, Journals, and Articles

A database contains journals in which articles are published.

Think of it like this: Picture a rose, any color you like; the petals are the articles, the rose itself is the journal, and the database is the vase that holds the roses. Journals are the volumes that contain specific articles and databases are the storehouses for the journals.

To discover articles on topics of interest to you, search our databases - listed by subject here.
If you need to find a specific article and you know the title of the journal in which it is published, search for it in Library Journal Titles.