LibGuides: Physician Assistant Studies Program: Medical Apps

Medical Apps and Mobilized Websites

This page contains information about medical applications and mobile optimized websites that you will find useful for research, clinical practice, and patient education. Some of the resources listed are available free to everyone, some are available to you at no cost through Rudisill Library subscriptions and others you will need to purchase before using.

This list is not meant to be comprehensive. Emphasis is on free apps and key resources for PAS students. Suggestions for updates and new additions are always welcome!

It is important to remember that medical apps are currently unregulated. There are good medical apps as well as those that are not so good. As with any information resource, evaluate all apps using your evidence-based decision making skills. Use ABACUS criteria, linked below, as a framework for evaluating apps. Another helpful resource is iMedicalApps, a blog written by physicians and health analysts that rates the apps on quality and usability.

ABACUS

Free Medical Apps

AHRQ ePSS
Tool to help clinicians identify clinical preventive services that are appropriate for their patients according to U.S. Preventive Services Task Force (USPSTF) recommendations .
American Academy of Pediatrics Apps
Access to a variety of apps produced by the AAP. Includes apps that are free to all and some free/low-cost to AAP members.
AO Surgery Reference Mobile
Online repository for surgical knowledge; describes the complete surgical management process from diagnosis to aftercare for all fractures of any given anatomical region.
CDC Mobile Apps Library
Provides access to the wide range of apps from the CDC. Includes apps for both the public and clinician available on a variety of platforms.
Diagnose
Aids physicians in the task of providing evidence based diagnoses through the use of pre and post-test probabilities and likelihood ratios.
Epocrates
Includes drug monographs, drug interaction calculator, pill identifier and pictures, medical news, infectious disease guides, alternative medications, disease monographs, lab & diagnostic tests, ICD9 & CPT codes, a medical dictionary, and more.
Medscape Mobile
Medical reference tool from WebMD. Contains over 80 tables and protocols including workups, treatments, differential diagnoses and drug interactions.
NLM Mobile
Provides links to the many useful apps from the National Library of Medicine, such as DailyMed, PubMed Mobile and Toxnet.

Library Resources

These resources are provided for students and faculty by Rudisill Library subscriptions. You do not need to purchase these apps, but you may need to create an account while on the LRU internet network before accessing them off-campus.

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window Journals, dissertations and books for nursing and allied health research.