Sustainability Studies

The Center for Energy Efficiency and Renewable Technologies (CEERT) is a partnership of major environmental groups and private-sector clean energy companies designed to fight for policies that promote global warming solutions and increased reliance on clean, renewable energy sources for California and the West.

The National Academies Science and Technology for Sustainability Program (STS) in the division of Policy and Global Affairs was established to encourage the use of science and technology to achieve long-term sustainable development.

The goal of NREL is to help bring innovative energy technologies to the marketplace. Its Student Resources section provides access to information on various forms of renewable energy including geothermal, hydrogen, solar, and wind.

A website which provides information about issues, science, and regulations pertaining to the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency.

Content in EPA's Web Archive is no longer being updated and links may not function; however, the materials in this archive may be useful as background documents to supplement current information or to provide a historical perspective on a topic.

The National Agricultural Library is one of four national libraries of the United States and houses one of the world's largest collections devoted to agriculture and its related sciences.

HighWire Press is the largest archive of free full-text science information.

"This Web site is designed to help North Carolinians learn to use water more efficiently at work, at home, at school and in their communities." Find out if you community is in a drought using tools on this page.

The WBCSD is a CEO-led organization of forward-thinking companies that galvanizes the global business community to create a sustainable future for business, society and the environment.

An independent publishing company committed to bringing accurate, unbiased, and timely green design information to building professionals.

A project funded by the U.S. EPA Office of Sustainable Communities that covers a range of development and conservation strategies that help protect our health and natural environment and make our communities more attractive, economically stronger, and more socially diverse.

"Environment North Carolina is a statewide, citizen-based environmental advocacy organization. Our professional staff combines independent research, practical ideas and tough-minded advocacy to overcome the opposition of powerful special interests and win real results for North Carolina's environment."

SCA's mission is to build the next generation of conservation leaders and inspire lifelong stewardship of our environment and communities by engaging young people in hands-on service to the land.

Asheville GreenWorks works to enhance the environment and quality of life for all residents of Asheville and Buncombe County through community-based, volunteer-led environmental conservation projects and education programs.