Population, Public and Community Health

Website has extensive information on diseases and conditions including infectious disease, chronic conditions, travel and environmental health. Very useful for those planning to travel abroad.

Excellent website for children's health information. Includes sections written for children, teens, parents and educators.

Award-winning resource designed to help patients and caregivers understand the many clinical laboratory tests that are performed as part of routine care as well as in the diagnosis and treatment of a broad range of conditions and diseases.

A commercial website but with good information on diseases and conditions. includes a symptom checker.

MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free.

Funded by and a service of the UNC Chapel Hill Health Sciences Library, NC Health Info is an online guide to web sites of quality health and medical information and local health services throughout North Carolina.

Up-to-date and reliable information on aging research and health and wellness for older adults.

From the National Library of Medicine this website contains the most recent drug labeling information submitted to the Food and Drug Administration (FDA)

Includes information on prescription drugs and over-the-counter medicines, including side effects, dosage,and special precautions. Also, has a section on herbs and supplements.

Website to aid in the identification of unknown pills. It combines images of pills with appearance and other information to enable users to visually search for and identify oral solid dosage form medications. Once a pill has been identified, additional information is provided including brand/generic name and ingredients.

Provides basic information about cancer and its causes to in-depth information on specific cancer types,including risk factors, early detection, diagnosis, and treatment options. Also, provides information on coping and support.

The central website for the National Cancer Institute (NCI), provides comprehensive information about cancer prevention and screening, diagnosis and treatment, research, clinical trials, latest news and links to other NCI websites.

From the American Society of Clinical Oncology (ACSO) it provides timely, oncologist-approved information to help patients and families make informed health care decisions.