LibGuides: Population, Public and Community Health: Internet Resources

Internet and Consumer Health Resources

When doing research Internet resources are very useful. However, it is important to critically evaluate websites and the information found there. The following is a selected list of websites that you may find useful. To access the site links, click on the tabs below. For example, for websites containing information about health policy, click on the "Health Policy and EBP Resources" Tab.

For websites containing consumer health information, click on the options in the second tabbed box. For instance, for cancer information, click on the "Cancer Information" tab.

Internet Resources

CDC: National Center for Health Statistics
Web portal to a vast array of health statistic websites.
County Health Rankings & Roadmaps
Collaboration between the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and the University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute provides data, evidence, guidance on health and health equity for local communities.
ECRI Guidelines Trust
Replaces the National Guideline Clearinghouse, provides a web-based repository of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines. Requires setting up a free ECRI account.
Healthy People 2020
Healthy People 2020 is a comprehensive document of national health-related goals and objectives. The website contains information on these goals and objectives, including background information about each health issue. It also has the Evidence-Based Resources tool, a searchable database with access to a wealth of information from multiple sources.
Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report
a weekly digest published by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention that contains data and reports on specific health and safety topics as reported by state and territorial health departments. Includes reports on infectious and chronic diseases, environmental hazards, natural or human-generated disasters, occupational diseases and injuries.
NC State Center for Health Statistics
"The North Carolina State Center for Health Statistics is responsible for data collection, health-related research, production of reports and maintenance of a comprehensive collection of health statistics."
PLACES: Local Data for Better Health
Collaborate project from the CDC, the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, and the CDC Foundation provides model-based population-level analysis and community estimates to all counties, places (incorporated and census designated places), census tracts, and ZIP Code Tabulation Areas (ZCTAs) across the United States.
State Health Facts
State Health Facts from the Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation provides free, up-to-date, and easy-to-use health data for all 50 states, the District of Columbia, the United States, counties, territories, and other geographies. State Health Facts is comprised of more than 800 health indicators and provides users with the ability to map, rank, trend, and download data.

APHA Policy Statement Database
Searchable database of APHA policy statements from 1948 to present.
CDC Public Health Policy
Gateway to resources from the CDC on policy-related programs and regulations that have public health implications.
Cochrane Reviews
This database contains abstracts and summaries of Cochrane systematic reviews. To request a copy of a complete report contact the library.
The Community Guide
A collection of evidence-based findings from the Community Preventive Services Task Force (CPSTF).
County Health Rankings & Roadmaps
Collaboration between the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and the University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute provides data, evidence, guidance on health and health equity for local communities.
Health Evidence
Database from McMaster University with systematic reviews on the effectiveness of public health interventions.
Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce
Collaboration of U.S. government agencies, public health organizations, and health sciences libraries which providing timely, convenient access to selected public health resources on the Internet.
RHIHub
From the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA), U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Rural Health Information Hub provides access to current and reliable resources and tools to help build effective community health programs.

Global Health Council
International organization that seeks to "improve health globally through increased investment, robust policies and the power of the collective voice." Includes a link to the Global Health Briefing Book.
GlobalHelath.gov
Website of the Office of Global Affairs, a division of the US Department of Health and Human Services. Provides information on global health topics and current strategies and programs aimed at improving global health.
WHO
World Health Organization. Excellent source for health data and statistics for all countries along with descriptive and analytical summaries of health indicators for major health topics.