LibGuides: Community College Administration: Finding Articles (Databases)

Off-Campus Access

If you are off-campus and link to licensed resources, you will see our proxy screen which includes the words "Appalachian College Association." Your username and password are as follows:

Username = your last name
Password = your ID card number*, replacing any leading zeros with the letters lr

For full instruction, visit our Off-Campus Password page.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

Can't find it here? Don't worry! Interlibrary loan (ILL) can deliver it to you by mail or electronically.

Click here for more information!

Library Databases

Databases by Subject
Browse the library databases by a particular subject.
Databases by Title
View available library databases listed alphabetically.

Highlighted Databases

ERIC (Education)

ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources. Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education, it is an essential tool for education researchers of all kinds.
JSTOR
Contains core academic journals going back to volume one, but lacking the most recent 3-5 years. Covers fields in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences.
Education Database

Education Database supports the study and application of education across all levels of education, including early childhood education, primary and secondary education, and higher education. The database supports global study and research, including thousands of full-text journals, dissertations and other relevant sources.

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

Academic Search Premier
Magazines and journals on many subjects, includes peer-reviewed and full-text articles.
Project MUSE
300 scholary e-journals with emphasis on the humanities, social sciences, and area studies.
ProQuest Research Library
General purpose database covering a wide range of academic subjects, featuring a diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.

Sample Searches

Sample search in ERIC
View results from a full-text search in ERIC on literature and values. Limiting to "Elementary Education," 114 manageable results are returned.

JSTOR
Contains core academic journals going back to volume one, but lacking the most recent 3-5 years. Covers fields in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences.