LibGuides: Mathematics: Finding Articles

Databases, Journals, and Articles

A database contains journals in which articles are published.

To discover articles on topics of interest to you, search our databases using the A to Z list or by subject here.
If you need to find a specific article and you know the title of the journal in which it is published, click "Journals" from the library home page and enter the journal title.
You can also browse by journal title or subject here.
To search the majority of the library's electronic collection with one search, use Summon

Articles: Scholarly vs Popular

Highlighted Mathematical Databases

MathSciNet This link opens in a new window Searchable database of reviews, abstracts, and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature.

arXiv.org Articles - Mathematics
Open access e-print archive with over 100000 articles in physics, 10000 in mathematics, and 1000 in computer science. (Formerly called xxx.)
more...less...
Open access means you will have access to this resource even after you graduate
The Jahrbuch Project: Electronic Research Archive for Mathematics (ERAM)
"The project provides a digital archive of the most important mathematical publications of the period 1868-1942 and a database based on the Jahrbuch über die Fortschritte der Mathematik."
Journals of the American Mathematical Society
"AMS peer-reviewed journals are of the highest quality in mathematical research. Our journals have been published since 1891 and cover a broad range of mathematics. Each journal is managed by editors who are prominent in their fields, and each is unique in its offering of articles, book reviews, and reports. In addition to publishing and distributing printed journals, the AMS offers searchable electronic versions that are available prior to the print versions."
NUMDAM
Search and download archives of mathematical journals.
more...less...
NUMDAM (Digitalization of mathematical old documents) proposes a free access to the metadata and the articles of reviews of mathematics.
During a five year embargo window the articles are reserved to the only subscribers.
Project Euclid
Jointly managed by the Cornell Library and Duke University Press, the project was originally created to provide a platform for small scholarly publishers of mathematics and statistics journals to move from print to electronic in a cost-effective way.
more...less...
Through a combination of support by subscribing libraries and participating publishers, Project Euclid has made 70% of its journal articles openly available. As of 2015, Project Euclid provides access to over 1.2 million pages of open-access content.

Multidisciplinary databases

Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Magazines and journals on many subjects, includes peer-reviewed and much full-text.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Contains core academic journals going back to volume one, but lacking the most recent 3-5 years. Covers fields in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Multi-subject database covering many journals with full-text.