LibGuides: Health, Exercise, and Sports Science: Internet Resources

Online Tutorials/Instruction

CINAHL Headings
Tutorial demonstrates how to improve search results by using CINAHL Headings.
Literature Reviews: An Overview for Graduate Students
Good overview of what a literature review is and the process of writing a literature review.
PubMed Tutorials
PubMed has a complete tutorial course on searching its database as well as brief tutorials on specific topics.

Credible Internet Resources

Below are lists of helpful credible internet resources relevant to Health, Exercise, and Sports Science studies. To access the websites, click on the name of a tab, e.g., "Evidence Based Medicine Resources" to view the site links within that category. If you encounter broken links, please report them to Zaria White at zaria.white@lr.edu.

* Please scroll down to view all resources

Internet Resources

Cochrane Reviews
Cochrane is a non-profit organization that summarizes the best evidence from research. Database contains abstracts and summaries of Cochrane systematic reviews.
ECRI Guidelines Trust
Replaces the National Guideline Clearinghouse, provides a web-based repository of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines. Requires setting up a free ECRI account.
EPC Evidence-Based Reports
Reports from Evidence-based Practice Centers (EPC) Program sponsored by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality. These reports review relevant scientific literature on a wide spectrum of clinical and health services topics.
PEDro Physiotherapy Evidence Database
Free database of over 32,000 randomized trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. Developed and maintained by the George Institute for Global Health, Australia.
TRIP
Clinical search engine that searches across multiple Internet sites for evidence-based content. It covers key medical journals, Cochrane Systematic reviews, clinical guidelines, and other highly relevant websites.

CDC: National Center for Health Statistics
Web portal to a vast array of health statistic websites.
Drug Information Portal
Information for over 55,000 drugs. Names, usage, and structures are displayed, as well as search links to key NLM and government sites.
Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report
Weekly digest published by the CDC that contains data and reports on specific health and safety topics as reported by state and territorial health departments. Includes reports on infectious and chronic diseases, environmental hazards, natural or human-generated disasters, occupational diseases and injuries.
NC State Center for Health Statistics
"The North Carolina State Center for Health Statistics is responsible for data collection, health-related research, production of reports and maintenance of a comprehensive collection of health statistics."

Physical Activity Guidelines
Science-based information and guidance on the amount and types of physical activity Americans 6 years and older need for health benefits. The Guidelines are intended for health professionals and policymakers, and are accompanied by resources to help guide the physical activity choices of the general public.
President's Council on Physical Fitness and Sports
Through partnerships with the public, private, and non-profit sectors, the President's Council promotes programs and initiatives that motivate people to lead active, healthy lives. Includes a Resource Center, a comprehensive source of information on physical activity, nutrition, and obesity in the United States.

American College of Sports Medicine
"Working in a wide range of medical specialties, allied health professions, and scientific disciplines, our members are committed to the diagnosis, treatment, and prevention of sports-related injuries and the advancement of the science of exercise."
American Council on Fitness
a nonprofit organization committed to enriching quality of life through safe and effective exercise and physical activity.
National Athletic Trainers Association
Includes information on membership, certification, publications, accredited graduate programs, jobs, etc.
Shape America: Society of Health and Physical Educators
SHAPE America is the largest organization of professionals involved in physical education, physical activity, dance, school health and sport. Its mission is to advance professional practice and promote research related to health and physical education, physical activity, dance and sport.
Women's Sports Foundation
"Founded in 1974 by tennis legend, Billie Jean King, the Women's Sports Foundation is dedicated to advancing the lives of girls and women through sports and physical activity." - from the Women's Sports Foundation