Skip to Main Content
chat now!

Archives and Special Collections

a guide to the physical and digital archival and special collections available through Rudisill Library

Frank Quinn, Dean of University Library Services

Profile Photo
Frank Quinn
Contact:
Rudisill Library 116
Lenoir-Rhyne University
Hickory, NC 28601
(828) 328-7235
Subjects: Art

Books, papers, and other realia

The heart of the library's archival and special collections is in the special collections room in the lower level of Rudisill Library. It contains:

  • Board of Trustees meeting minutes and correspondence
  • Presidential papers and correspondence
  • Faculty Assembly minutes and reports
  • Academic Department publications and papers
  • Athletics clippings, brochures, and press releases
  • Student organizations' documentation and publications
  • Hacawas (yearbooks)
  • Honors Theses
  • Photographs
  • The Rhynean (campus newspaper)

...and much more. Access and more detailed information about these holdings can be obtained by appointment by emailing refdesk@lr.edu.

Digital collections

  • The Lenoir-Rhyne Academic Institutional Repository (LAIR) is the digital home for scholarly works of the Lenoir-Rhyne academic community. It includes faculty publications, student capstone projects and theses, and a growing collection of rare content from the University Archives and Special Collections. LAIR content is freely accessible on the open web.
  • LRU Publications Online is a collection of a number of university publications, hosted by the Internet Archives and including:
    • Fair Star (a history of Lenoir-Rhyne)
    • the Hacawa, the university yearbook (1909- 2011)
    • the Alumni Bulletin
    • selected Catalogs
    • Profile: Lenoir-Rhyne Magazine
    • With a Voice of Singing: A History of the Lenoir-Rhyne University A Capella Choir