LibGuides: Population, Public and Community Health: Finding Articles

Online Tutorials/Instruction

CINAHL Headings
Tutorial demonstrates how to improve search results by using CINAHL Headings.
PubMed Tutorials
PubMed has a complete tutorial course on searching its database as well as brief tutorials on specific topics.

Interlibrary Loan

If you need a book or article that the Rudsill Library does not own, you can request it using interlibrary loan (ILL), usually at no cost to you. Go to the ILL webpage and click on the link to the ILL site. Log in with the same credentials as your myLR login and then fill out the form. You will receive an email when your request is available. Article requests usually take 2 to 3 days. Book requests usually take 10 days or longer

Watch the video linked below for complete instructions.

Health Journals Databases

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Journals, dissertations and books for nursing and allied health research.
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Database This link opens in a new window
Journals and dissertations covering nursing, allied health, and alternative and complementary medicine
ProQuest Public Health Database This link opens in a new window
Indexes the core literature from the field of public health
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Database with records devoted to peer-reviewed literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic information covering a variety of medical disciplines.

Statistical Tools

Statistical Abstract of the U.S. This link opens in a new window
The Statistical Abstract of the United States has been published since 1878 and is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window Magazines and journals on many subjects, includes peer-reviewed and much full-text.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Contains core academic journals going back to volume one, but lacking the most recent 3-5 years. Covers fields in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Scholarly e-journals, with emphasis in the humanities, social sciences, & area studies.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window Multi-subject database covering many journals with full-text.