- BOOKS & MEDIA
- Books and eBooks
- Streaming media
- GUIDES & TUTORIALS
- All research guides
- Guides by subject
- Guides by special topic
- Video tutorials
Service Alert
A database is a searchable collection of information. A journal is a publication that comes out in issues on a regular basis. An issue of a journal contains individual articles. A journal database contains articles published in journals, although some can also include other types of documents and resources. Most journal databases provide the full text of some articles and only a citation and/or abstract for other articles. Databases can be searched in various ways, but usually by keyword, author, title and subject.
Below is a list of databases relevant to Public Health research. To access the databases, click on the title of a database, e.g., "CINAHL Complete." There you will find the link to the database and a description of the database. To find more databases, go the the Rudisill Library homepage and click on the "Databases" quick link below the search box. From there, you can search for databases by title of subject. For a complete list of library databases go to Databases A to Z.
To access the journals, click on the journal title in the table below. To find more journals, go to the Rudisill Library homepage, and click on the "Journal Titles" quick link below the search box. From there, you can search for journals by title or keyword. You can also access the WorldCat Journal Titles page here.
*Please scroll down to view all resources
CINAHL Complete is a comprehensive database offering convenient access to 717 active full-text journals spanning various disciplines in nursing and allied health, along with evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, and more.CINAHL Subject Headings help users effectively search and retrieve information and follow the structure of the Medical Subject headings (MeSH) used by the National Library of Medicine. These Subject Headings help researchers find new concepts, including COVID-19, social distancing and vaping as well as local terminology.
This database offers reliable, comprehensive coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, video, dissertations, reference books and more.
ProQuest Public Health covers a wide variety of disciplines ranging from social sciences and biological sciences to business. Journal results are indexed from core literature collected from a variety of publishers using appropriate public-health terminology.
This ever-expanding collection of behavioral and social science research, dissertations, and scholarly literature abstracts offers a broad view of the field. With relevance to a host of related disciplines, including neuroscience, business, nursing, law and education, APA PsycInfo delivers the peer-reviewed content and abstracts students and researchers need, and does so with remarkable precision and a dedication to scholarly and scientific excellence.
A popular resource found in many scholarly settings worldwide, Academic Search Premier is a leading multidisciplinary research database. It provides acclaimed full-text journals, magazines, and other valuable resources that cover the expansive academic disciplines offered in colleges and universities. This comprehensive content includes both PDF backfiles and searchable cited references.
ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to thousands of full-text periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer. Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, professional and trade publications, and magazines covering over 150 subjects and topics. in all instances.
Below are a selection of public health journals available in the Library's collection. This list is not exhaustive. To search for additional titles, use the Library Journal Titles page.
| Title | Description & Holdings |
|---|---|
| American Journal of Public Health: JPH | Articles of original research, research methods, program evaluations, analytic reviews, including health policy analysis and reports on health policy. Holdings: 01-01-1992 - Present |
| American Journal of Preventive Medicine | Publishes articles in the areas of prevention research, teaching, practice and policy. Original research is published on interventions aimed at the prevention of chronic and acute disease and the promotion of individual and community health. Holdings: 01-1995 - Present |
| Annual Review of Public Health | The Annual Review of Public Health, in publication since 1980, covers significant developments in the field of Public Health, including key developments in epidemiology and biostatistics, environmental and occupational health, issues related to social environment and behavior, health services, and public health practice. Holdings: 04-01-1997 - 04-01-2025 |
| Journal of Health and Social Behavior | The Journal of Health and Social Behavior is a medical sociology journal that publishes empirical and theoretical articles that apply sociological concepts and methods to the understanding of health and illness and the organization of medicine and health care. Holdings: 03-01-1967 - 12-01-2022. Selected articles available from 2022 - Present |