LibGuides: Gerontology (OCC 534): Internet Resources

Online Tutorials/Instruction

CINAHL Headings
Tutorial demonstrates how to improve search results by using CINAHL Headings.
Literature Reviews: An Overview for Graduate Students
Good overview of what a literature review is and the process of writing a literature review.
PubMed Tutorials
PubMed has a complete tutorial course on searching its database as well as brief tutorials on specific topics.

Cochrane Reviews
This database contains abstracts and summaries of Cochrane systematic reviews. To request a copy of a complete report contact the library.
ECRI Guidelines Trust
Developed in response to the shut down the National Guideline Clearinghouse, provides a web-based repository of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines. Requires setting up a free ECRI account.
EPC Evidence-Based Reports
Reports from Evidence-based Practice Centers (EPC) Program sponsored by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality. These reports review relevant scientific literature on a wide spectrum of clinical and health services topics.
PEDro Physiotherapy Evidence Database
Free database of over 32,000 randomized trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. Developed and maintained by the George Institute for Global Health, Australia.

CDC: National Center for Health Statistics
Web portal to a vast array of health statistic websites.
NC State Center for Health Statistics
"The North Carolina State Center for Health Statistics is responsible for data collection, health-related research, production of reports and maintenance of a comprehensive collection of health statistics."
Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report
Weekly digest published by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention that contains data and reports on specific health and safety topics as reported by state and territorial health departments. Includes reports on infectious and chronic diseases, environmental hazards, natural or human-generated disasters, occupational diseases and injuries.

ICE Video Library
Streaming videos of real-life patient assessment and intervention filmed with actual patients and therapists in various treatment settings including acute care, skilled nursing, outpatient, home health and ICU.

CDC Healthy Aging
Portal to a wide range of web-based tools and resources from the CDC's Healthy Aging Program and The Healthy Brain Initiative.
Gerontological Society of America
Interdisciplinary organization devoted to research, education, and practice in the field of aging. Its stated mission is to “advance the study of aging and disseminate information among scientists, decision makers, and the general public “
National Council on Aging
Includes information and resources for consumers and professionals.