Therapeutic Modalities

This database contains abstracts and summaries of Cochrane systematic reviews. To request a copy of a complete report contact the library.

Developed in response to the shut down the National Guideline Clearinghouse, provides a web-based repository of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines. Requires setting up a free ECRI account.

Reports from Evidence-based Practice Centers (EPC) Program sponsored by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality. These reports review relevant scientific literature on a wide spectrum of clinical and health services topics.

Free database of over 32,000 randomized trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. Developed and maintained by the George Institute for Global Health, Australia.

Web portal to a vast array of health statistic websites.

"The North Carolina State Center for Health Statistics is responsible for data collection, health-related research, production of reports and maintenance of a comprehensive collection of health statistics."

Weekly digest published by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention that contains data and reports on specific health and safety topics as reported by state and territorial health departments. Includes reports on infectious and chronic diseases, environmental hazards, natural or human-generated disasters, occupational diseases and injuries.

"The American Occupational Therapy Association (AOTA) is the national professional association established in 1917 to represent the interests and concerns of occupational therapy practitioners and students of occupational therapy and to improve the quality of occupational therapy services."

Includes information on membership, certification, publications, accredited graduate programs, jobs, etc.

NBCOT is a not-for-profit credentialing agency that provides certification for the occupational therapy profession.

NC Athletic Trainers' Association serves "to support athletic trainers, to promote and advance the profession of athletic training in North Carolina. The NCATA is a member of the Mid-Atlantic Athletic Trainers Association (District 3) and the National Athletic Trainers’ Association."

"The purpose of the NBATE is to promote the health, safety and welfare of the North Carolina public through the licensure and regulation of Athletic Trainers. The Board reviews all applications and renewals and ensures the credentials of all licensed Athletic Trainers."

"The NC OT Practice Act is enacted to safeguard the public health, safety and welfare, to protect the public from being harmed by unqualified persons, to assure the highest degree of professional care and conduct on the part of OTs and OT Assistants, to provide for the establishment of standards of education, and to insure the availability of OT services of high quality to persons in need of such services."

"The NC Occupational Therapy Association (NCOTA) is North Carolina's leading association for occupational therapists, occupational therapy assistants and occupational therapy students. Headquartered in Raleigh and affiliated with the American Occupational Therapy Association (AOTA), NCOTA was founded in 1957 and later incorporated as a not-for-profit membership organization in 1976."