Explore the culture and history of NC through original documents.
MLA International Bibliography
This link opens in a new windowMLA International Bibliography covers a broad range of humanities subjects, including world languages and literatures, linguistics, dramatic arts, film, folklore, rhetoric and writing studies, teaching of language, and history of publishing. Its expansive scope also makes it an excellent resource for research in history, philosophy, communications, and cross-disciplinary subjects such as gender studies and area studies. Coverage is international, encompassing scholarly publications in more than 70 languages. Numerous full-text links provide easy access to resources in the library as well as open access publications.
Oxford English Dictionary
This link opens in a new windowAn unsurpassed guide for researchers in any discipline to the meaning, history, and usage of over 500,000 words and phrases across the English-speaking world.
Oxford Reference
This link opens in a new windowAs you browse through Oxford Reference, you may find results that range from short-entry, general reference to more in-depth articles on specialized subjects. Oxford Reference is the premier online reference product, spanning 22 different subject areas, bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias.
Academic Search Premier
This link opens in a new windowA popular resource found in many scholarly settings worldwide, Academic Search Premier is a leading multidisciplinary research database. It provides acclaimed full-text journals, magazines, and other valuable resources that cover the expansive academic disciplines offered in colleges and universities. This comprehensive content includes both PDF backfiles and searchable cited references.
JSTOR
This link opens in a new windowContains core academic journals going back to volume one, but lacking the most recent 3-5 years. Covers fields in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences.
Oxford English Dictionary
This link opens in a new windowAn unsurpassed guide for researchers in any discipline to the meaning, history, and usage of over 500,000 words and phrases across the English-speaking world.
Project MUSE
This link opens in a new windowProject MUSE promotes the creation and dissemination of essential humanities and social science resources through collaboration with libraries, publishers, and scholars worldwide. Forged from a partnership between a university press and a library, Project MUSE is a trusted part of the academic and scholarly community it serves.
ProQuest Research Library
This link opens in a new windowProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to thousands of full-text periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer. Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, professional and trade publications, and magazines covering over 150 subjects and topics. in all instances.
