LibGuides: Occupational Therapy: Finding Databases, Journals, & Articles

Medical Subject Headings (MeSH)

The Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) is the National Library of Medicine’s controlled vocabulary thesaurus that gives uniformity and consistency to the indexing and cataloging of biomedical literature. It connects all the different ways to express a concept, such as "cancer."

Link to all MeSH Categories

Link to MeSH on Demand

Online Tutorials/Instruction

CINAHL Headings
Tutorial demonstrates how to improve search results by using CINAHL Headings.
PubMed Tutorials
PubMed has a complete tutorial course on searching its database as well as brief tutorials on specific topics.

Interlibrary Loan

If you need a book or article that the Rudsill Library does not own, you can request it using interlibrary loan (ILL), usually at no cost to you. Go to the ILL webpage and click on the link to the ILL site. Log in with the same credentials as your myLR login and then fill out the form. You will receive an email when your request is available. Article requests usually take 2 to 3 days. Book requests usually take 10 days or longer

Watch the video linked below for complete instructions.

Databases, Journals, and Articles

A database is a searchable collection of information. A journal is a publication that comes out in issues on a regular basis. An issue of a journal contains individual articles. A journal database contains articles published in journals, although some can also include other types of documents and resources. Most journal databases provide the full text of some articles and only a citation and/or abstract for other articles. Databases can be searched in various ways, but usually by keyword, author, title and subject.

To search for a journal by title go to the WorldCat Journals page. Use the journal database links on the Finding Articles page of this LibGuide to search for journal articles. For a complete list of library databases go to Databases A to Z.

Health Databases

CINAHL Complete
CINAHL Complete is a comprehensive database offering convenient access to 717 active full-text journals spanning various disciplines in nursing and allied health, along with evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, and more.CINAHL Subject Headings help users effectively search and retrieve information and follow the structure of the Medical Subject headings (MeSH) used by the National Library of Medicine. These Subject Headings help researchers find new concepts, including COVID-19, social distancing and vaping as well as local terminology.
ERIC (Education)
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources. Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education, it is an essential tool for education researchers of all kinds.
ICE Video Library
Innovative streaming video collections of real patients and therapists created to inspire clinical excellence for faculty, students, and clinicians in occupational therapy and physical therapy programs.
Nursing and Allied Health Database
This database offers reliable, comprehensive coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, video, dissertations, reference books and more.
PsycINFO
This ever-expanding collection of behavioral and social science research, dissertations, and scholarly literature abstracts offers a broad view of the field. With relevance to a host of related disciplines, including neuroscience, business, nursing, law and education, APA PsycInfo delivers the peer-reviewed content and abstracts students and researchers need, and does so with remarkable precision and a dedication to scholarly and scientific excellence.
PubMed
PubMed® comprises more than 37 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

Academic Search Premier
A popular resource found in many scholarly settings worldwide, Academic Search Premier is a leading multidisciplinary research database. It provides acclaimed full-text journals, magazines, and other valuable resources that cover the expansive academic disciplines offered in colleges and universities. This comprehensive content includes both PDF backfiles and searchable cited references.
JSTOR
Contains core academic journals going back to volume one, but lacking the most recent 3-5 years. Covers fields in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences.
ProQuest Research Library
ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to thousands of full-text periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer. Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, professional and trade publications, and magazines covering over 150 subjects and topics. in all instances.
Wiley Online Library

Multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.