Need some background information to help decide on a topic? Have you read an article and are confused on the lingo? Reference works, both print and online, will help you get started with your research. Here are some of online reference databases available that include business reference resources.
Credo Reference -- Search over 634 reference books such as the Penguin Dictionary of Economics and An Encyclopedia of Macroeconomics.
Gale Virtual Reference Library -- Search the content of over 30 specialized online encyclopedias, such as the Encyclopedia of Business Ethics and Society, and the Encyclopedia of Business in Today's World.
Renew your items from the comfort of your own computer.
To log-in enter:
Your username: your last name
Your password: "lr" + your ID card number, omitting any leading zeros
Example: if your ID number is 000654321, your password/barcode would be -- lr654321
We don't have the title you want? You can request it through our InterLibrary Loan form. You can request books or even submit a request for another library to scan an article that they have in print and send it to you via email.
Dont forget your local public library! Many public libraries participate in ILL, and can get you books and other items that they don't own!
Search the online catalog for books, DVDs, e-books, audio books, etc.
When searching use more general search terms than you would when searching a database of journal articles. For example, do a SUBJECT search on business to see the many subjects and entries listed under each.
When you find an item that looks useful, check the subject headings - you can click on them to see similar items. Also, it may be useful to click on the call number in the record. This allows you to virtually browse the titles as though you were standing in the stacks, except you'll also see any e-books in the collection.
You can browse our extensive collection of business related books on the 2nd floor of the Rudisill Library! The following Library of Congress call number classifications may be of interest to you. The first letter(s) found on the sticker near the bottom of the book's spine will be...
Confused? Ask a Librarian!