LibGuides: Chemistry: Internet Resources

Internet Resources

When doing research Internet resources are very useful. However, it is important to critically evaluate websites and the information found there. The following is a selected list of websites that you may find useful.

Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry
Federal public health agency of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Provides information and resources to help prevent harmful exposures and diseases related to toxic substances.
ChemSpider
A free structure database from the Royal Society of Chemistry, with millions of substances linked to freely available data from sources like PubMed.
DataCite
DataCite is a registry of research data repositories. This search tool allows researchers to search for data sets by author, keyword, and more.
NIST Physical Reference Data
Chemical datasets from the Physical Measurement Laboratory, including spectroscopic, nuclear, and energy data.
PubChem
PubChem is the world's largest collection of freely accessible chemical information. Search chemicals by name, molecular formula, structure, and other identifiers. Find chemical and physical properties, biological activities, safety and toxicity information, patents, literature citations and more.
Science.gov
Gateway to government science information and research results; provides a search of over 42 scientific databases and 200 million pages of science information with just one query, and is a gateway to over 2000 scientific Website

Patent Dababases

All patents issued in the United States (1790 - current) are searchable from the USPTO's website. There are several other databases that contain this information with different search engines and output features. Exploring with several of the interfaces will help make your search comprehensive.

Google Patents
Google Patents includes patent applications and grants from the USPTO, EPO, JPO, SIPO, WIPO, DPMA, and CIPO. Patents without English full text are machine-translated to English, so you can search foreign patent documents using only English keywords.
Lens.org Patent Search
Searches granted patents and applications from the US, Europe, Australia, and beyond. Includes patents from the WIPO. Full-text available as HTML and/or PDF.
PatentScope
From World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO). Using PATENTSCOPE search 77 million patent documents including 3.7 million published international patent applications (PCT).
USPTO Patent Search
Searches the full-text of issued patents from the United States Patent and Trademark Office. Images of the patents are only available as .TIFF documents, and you may need to download a .TIFF viewer to open the documents.

Associations and Organizations

American Chemical Society
"ACS is a congressionally chartered independent membership organization which represents professionals at all degree levels and in all fields of chemistry and sciences that involve chemistry."
American Chemistry Council
"The American Chemistry Council represents the companies that make the products that make modern life possible, while working to protect the environment, public health, and the security of our nation."