LibGuides: History: Internet Resources

Internet Resources

When doing research Internet resources are very useful. However, it is important to critically evaluate websites and the information found there. The following is a selected list of websites that you may find useful.

Digital North Carolina
Statewide digitization and digital publishing program that works with cultural heritage institutions across North Carolina to digitize and publish historic materials online.
EuroDocs
Links to online primary documents for European nations. From Brigham Young University.
H-Holocaust
Part of the Humanities and Social Sciences Online (H-Net) provides peer reviewed essays, multimedia materials, and discussions from scholars and researchers.
Holocaust Memorial Museum
Website of the US Holocaust Memorial Museum.
Library of Congress Digital Collection
From the Library of Congress the Digital Collection is a rich source of primary resources on a wide variety of topics.
National Archives
From the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) contains over two million digitized historical documents, photographs, and images.
North Carolina Museum of History
Website for the NC Museum of History. Includes virtual tours of collections that requires a free registration.
Old Maps Online
Indexes over 400.000 maps historical maps including local, national and international maps.
Victorian Studies Bibliography
"Lists noteworthy books, articles, and reviews on the Victorian period. Compiled by reps from the Victorian Division of the MLA." (listed in C&RL News, Vol. 71 No.4)
World History Encyclopedia: Primary Sources
Covers an array of historical topics and narratives through text, video, interactive features, and social media.

Assocations and Organizations

World History Association
The WHA promotes world history through the encouragement of teaching, research, and publication.
American Historical Association
Largest professional organization serving historians in all fields and all professions.
Phi Alpha Theta
History honor society. Their mission is "to promote the study of history through the encouragement of research, good teaching, publication and the exchange of learning and ideas among historians."