History

This collection contains 2,009 authors and approximately 100,000 pages of diaries, letters, and memoirs. Particular care has been taken to index this material so it can be searched more thoroughly than ever. Each source has been carefully chosen using leading bibliographies. The database includes 4,000 pages of previously unpublished manuscripts, such as the letters of Amos Wood and his wife and the diary of Maryland Planter, William Claytor. The collection also includes biographies, an extensive bibliography of the sources in the database, and material licensed from The Civil War Day-by-Day by E.B. Long.

This resource documents the relationships among peoples in North America from 1534 to 1850. The collection focuses on personal accounts and provides unique perspectives from all of the protagonists, including traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, native peoples, and officials, both men and women. The project brings coherence to a wide range of published and unpublished accounts, including narratives, diaries, journals, and letters.

Letters, diaries, and documents tracing relationships among people and cultures, from 1534 to 1850.

3.5 million pages of digitized content from over 1,000 NC county newspapers.

History Study Center (HSC) is a curated collection of full-text journals, popular magazines and primary source documents covering a range of global historical topics and themes. The collection includes current and archival secondary sources for vital content and varied perspectives on thousands of topics from world history. Users can explore primary source documents from three U.S. Presidential Administrations, offering insights into mid-20th Century landmark events that reverberate into the current day. HSC supports students preparing to complete the Cambridge International AS and A Level Global Perspectives & Research project, as well as completion of the Advanced Placement U.S. History and Advanced Placement World History examinations and course work. It’s also a trusted companion for a National History Day project.

Follow instructions to register for free NYT account. Content includes all the articles published since 1851. Provides full text and full image articles as well as editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photos, and advertisements.

Collection of women’s diaries and correspondence spanning more than 300 years, presenting the personal experiences of hundreds of women.

Information on the current, political, economic and social status of every country in the world.

Over 7,000 videos covering academic subjects and popular topics including documentaries, interview, historical speeches, newsreels and music performances.

PBS and our member stations are America’s largest classroom, the nation’s largest stage for the arts and a trusted window to the world

A popular resource found in many scholarly settings worldwide, Academic Search Premier is a leading multidisciplinary research database. It provides acclaimed full-text journals, magazines, and other valuable resources that cover the expansive academic disciplines offered in colleges and universities. This comprehensive content includes both PDF backfiles and searchable cited references.

Contains academic content in many formats and disciplines, including peer-reviewed scholarly journals, literary journals, academic monographs, research reports and primary sources.

300 quality scholarly e-journals, with emphasis in the humanities, social sciences, & area studies.

Features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.