LibGuides: Nursing: Internet Resources

Credible Internet Resources

Below are lists of helpful credible internet resources relevant to FNP/DNP studies. To access the websites, click on the name of a tab, e.g., "Evidence Based Medicine Resources" to view the site links within that category. If you encounter broken links, please report them to Zaria White at zaria.white@lr.edu.

* Please scroll down to view all resources

Internet Resources

Cochrane Reviews
Cochrane is a non-profit organization that summarizes the best evidence from research. Database contains abstracts and summaries of Cochrane systematic reviews.
ECRI Guidelines Trust
Developed in response to the shut down the National Guideline Clearinghouse, provides a web-based repository of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines. Requires setting up a free ECRI account.
EPC Evidence-Based Reports
Reports from Evidence-based Practice Centers (EPC) Program sponsored by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality. These reports review relevant scientific literature on a wide spectrum of clinical and health services topics.
TRIP
Clinical search engine that searches across multiple Internet sites for evidence-based content. It covers key medical journals, Cochrane Systematic reviews, clinical guidelines, and other highly relevant websites.

CDC: National Center for Health Statistics
Web portal to a vast array of health statistic websites.
Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report
Weekly digest published by the CDC that contains data and reports on specific health and safety topics as reported by state and territorial health departments. Includes reports on infectious and chronic diseases, environmental hazards, natural or human-generated disasters, occupational diseases and injuries.
NC State Center for Health Statistics
"The North Carolina State Center for Health Statistics is responsible for data collection, health-related research, production of reports and maintenance of a comprehensive collection of health statistics."
NIMH Statistics
Current statistics on the prevalence, treatment, and costs of mental disorders for the US..

Drug Information from NIH
Gateway to drug information from key US government agencies.
Genetics Home Reference
National Library of Medicine's web site for consumer information about genetic conditions and the genes or chromosomes related to those conditions.
Health.gov
From the Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion it is "go-to site for disease prevention and health promotion information and resources"
Lab Tests Online
Lab Tests Online has a mission to help consumers advocate for their health by providing them with learning guides and products that make lab testing accessible, convenient, and affordable. Hundreds of easy-to-read lab testing guides are available to help students learn to read lab tests.
MedlinePlus
Produced by the National Library of Medicine provides authoritative and up-to-date information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues written for the consumer.