LibGuides: Art: Finding Articles

Using Resources from Off-Campus

When you try to access library resources online from off-campus, you will be prompted to log in with the Appalachian College Association. To login:

username: your last name

password: "lr" + your ID card number deleting any leading zeros.

Example: if your ID number is 000654321, your password would be -- lr654321

Inter-Library Loan

We don't have the title you want? Request it from another library that does through our InterLibrary Loan form. You can even submit a request for another library to scan an article that they have in print and send it to you via email.

Check out our brief Introduction to Interlibrary Loan on Vimeo.

Databases available through your library

A database contains journals in which articles are published.

To discover articles on topics of interest to you, search our databases - listed by subject here.
If you need to find a specific article and you know the title of the journal in which it is published, search for it in Journal Finder.
If you need to find images, try one of the databases listed on this page.

Art and Architecture Complete This link opens in a new window Indexing, abstracts, and an image collection covering a variety of subjects, including antiques, art and art history, interior and landscape design, and much more.

CAMIO
Catalog of Art Museum Images Online; access over 50,000 images of works of art from American museums.

Image and research Databases - Free

Art & Architecture - Courtauld Institute of Art
Over 40,000 images from the Courtauld Institute of Art in the UK.
Flickr: The Commons
"The key goals of The Commons on Flickr are to firstly show you hidden treasures in the world's public photography archives, and secondly to show how your input and knowledge can help make these collections even richer."
Google Cultural Institute
A collaboration between Google and museum partners to provide access to high-quality art images.
Library of Congress: Prints & Photographs Online Catalog
The Prints and Photographs Online Catalog (PPOC) contains catalog records and digital images representing a rich cross-section of still pictures held by the Prints & Photographs Division and, in some cases, other units of the Library of Congress. The Library of Congress offers broad public access to these materials as a contribution to education and scholarship.
Life Photo Archives
Hosted by Google: search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today.
Smithsonian Archives of American Art
"With over 20 million items in its continually growing collections, the Archives is the world’s largest and most widely used resource dedicated to collecting and preserving the papers and primary records of the visual arts in America."
Wikimedia Commons
A database of freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute.

Multisubject databases useful for research in Fine and Performing Arts

Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Scholarly e-journals, with emphasis in the humanities, social sciences, & area studies.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Magazines and journals on many subjects, includes peer-reviewed and much full-text.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Contains core academic journals going back to volume one, but lacking the most recent 3-5 years. Covers fields in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Multi-subject database covering many journals with full-text.